The first of the three visits of the motorbikes and comminations from the Autocycle Union’s (ACU) National Hill Climb Championship took place on April 22nd.

The riders and their machines produced the some spectacular racing and Sunday did not disappoint. And we would like to thank them help after the meeting over-ran. Most riders only have one timed run after an incident at Karousel during the second times runs.

The fastest time of the day was Stuart Mills on his Aprilia Tuono V4 with a 33.76s run. His run was the twelfth fastest time of the day and that’s on just two wheels and sometimes just one! Have a look at his video that you can find on our Facebook page,

Here are the class details:

The Solo Motor Cycles 100cc to 250cc class, went first Allan Harvey on his Huish Yamaha YZ took the class win with a 40.68s run.

Next up were the Solo Motor Cycles 251cc to 350cc class, Simon Wilson on his Yamaha 350 won the class with a 41.37s timed run.

Then it came the turn over the Solo Motor Cycles 351cc to 500cc class. This class has a large entry with eight riders and bikes competing for the win. It’s so competitive, it could have been anyone’s. The winner was Dan Hurley on his Honda CR with a 35.99s run, followed by Les Wilson on his Suzuki RMZ, 36.16s, George Hodges on his Team GV Honda CRF, 36.36s and Chris Keates on his Honda CRF, 36.68s. It was a very close fought battle.

The Solo Motor Cycles 501cc to 750cc class also had a large entry. As ever the riders were super competitive and with riders of this calibre it was going to be close. Tommy Hodges on his KTM SMR won with a 34.02s, Peter Short on his KTM and Guy Ursell on his KTM were second and third respectively.

Then it was the turn of the fastest riders and bikes to come to the hill. sees another big class entry, the Solo Motor Cycles 751cc to 1300cc class. Stuart Mills on his Aprilla Tuono V4 won for the second year in sucession. You can see his run on our Facebook page. His time was the twelfth fastest time of the day.

Then came the motorbike and side car combinations! The pillion (passenger) only stays on by holding on buy their feet and hands, no seat belts or harnesses. The pillion hanging on or sometimes out of the combination!

The hill record holding combination Ian Guy and Jed Pilmoor-Brady on their LCR Suzuki won the class with a 35.48s run with Kevin and Sara Dewell second on their Honda SKR.

We would like to thank everyone who made the day possible, the office staff, the marshals, timekeepers, scrutineers and officials without whom we couldn’t run the meeting. Thanks to Ashley Wood Recovery, TSL Timing, Steve Lister, A-Cute Medical Services, Venture Security and Peter Crutcher from Ringwood PA.
Anthony Record – Press Officer – BARC SW, Gurston Down Speed Hill Climb